Region IV-B now Mimaropa Region

It is not necessary anymore to call the collective island provinces of Mindoro (Oriental and Occidental), Marinduque, Romblon and Palawan as ‘Region IV-B’, following the enactment into law of Republic Act 10879 or the MIMAROPA Act, which officially establishes the Southwestern Tagalog Region, comprised of the said provinces, as the ‘MIMAROPA Region’ on July 17, 2016.

RA 10879 will give MIMAROPA a distinct regional status from its present position as part of Region IV and should boost its economic standing, promote tourism, and propel its agriculture.

The MIMAROPA Act is one of the 29 bills submitted during the term of former President Benigno Aquino III that have lapsed into law. Article VI, Section 27 of the Constitution states that “the President shall communicate his veto of any bill to the House where it originated within thirty days after the date of receipt thereof; otherwise, it shall become a law as if he had signed it.”

Copy of Republic Act 10879 can be downloaded here.

Courtesy and references: Palawan News | Senate of the Philippines
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!