Velasco chosen to lead the energy committee

Duterte allies get chairmanships of key House committees

DAVAO City Rep. Karlo Nograles led the allies of President Duterte who were chosen to head key committees in the House of Representatives.

Majority Leader Ilocos Norte Rep. Rodolfo Farinas announced during the plenary session that Nograles is the next chairperson of the appropriations committee, the powerful House committee tasked to deliberate on the appropriations law or the national budget.

Nograles is a member of the National Unity Party which aligned itself with the ruling Partido Demokratikong Pilipino-Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban).

Congress has the power of the purse and constitutional duty to scrutinize the proposed national budget.

Former actress and Leyte Rep. Lucy Torres Gomez was chosen to lead the committee on tourism.

Marinduque Rep. Lord Allan Velasco will chair the energy committee.

Palawan Rep. Franz “Chicoy” Alvarez is the next chair of the committee on legislative franchise.

San Juan Rep. Ronaldo Zamora will chair the House contingent of the powerful committee on appointments.

They are all newly minted members of the PDP-Laban.

Source and courtesy: Inquirer | Photo: Screen grabbed from Velasco’s Facebook account
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!