Marinduque will receive P1.5 million from Makati City

Makati extends P15-M aid to 27 LGUs affected by Typhoon #NinaPH

The Makati City Council has approved the release of P15-million as financial assistance to 27 local government units (LGUs) directly affected by Typhoon Nina in the provinces of Quezon, Albay, Camarines Sur, Catanduanes, and Marinduque.

Mayor Abby Binay had initiated the move as an expression of sympathy and support for the typhoon victims of the said LGUs, all of which are sister-localities of the city.

“I am saddened that our sister-localities had endured such a calamity at a time that was supposed to be a season of joy and hope. As their sister city, Makati is ready to help their affected constituents in the best way possible,” Binay said.

Through Resolution No. 2017-01 of the Makati DRRM Council, which is chaired by Mayor Binay, the appropriation of P15-million for the said purpose was recommended to the City Council for approval.

The funds will be taken from the Quick Response Fund comprising 30 percent of the city’s total budget for Disaster Risk Reduction and Management (DRRM). The stand-by fund is used in relief and recovery programs intended to normalize living conditions of residents in communities stricken by calamities, disasters and other forms of complex emergencies.

Makati DRRM Officer Richard Raymund Rodriguez said the 27 recipients of the newly-approved financial aid consist of 12 localities in Camarines Sur, six in Albay, four in Marinduque, three in Catanduanes, and two in Quezon province.

“Each LGU will receive a certain amount of financial assistance depending on the number of families affected in their area, ranging from 2,000 to 14,000 households. We have based the number on the official report of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC) concerning Typhoon Nina,” Rodriguez said.

To receive P1 million each are the localities of Malinao and Legazpi in Albay, and four localities in Camarines Sur, namely, Bula, Libmanan, Minalabac, Nabua and Pili.

On the other hand, P750,000 each has been allocated for Virac, Catanduanes and Sto. Domingo, Albay.

The following LGUs will receive P500,000 each: Balatan, Bato, Caramoan, and Goa in Camarines Sur; Sta. Cruz and Torrijos in Marinduque; and Daraga and Tabaco in Albay.

The rest of the recipients, to receive P250,000 each from the city, consist of Canaman, San Fernando, and San Jose, Camarines Sur; Gasan and Mogpog in Marinduque; Mulanay and San Andres in Quezon; and Libon, Albay.

Typhoon Nina, with international code name Nock-ten, made its first two landfalls in Catanduanes and Camarines Sur on December 25 last year. It continued to batter cities and municipalities in the regions of Mimaropa, Calabarzon, Bicol and Central Visayas in the succeeding days.

Last November, Makati also provided P3.6-million as relief assistance to victims of Super Typhoon Lawin in 18 local government units in the provinces of Cagayan and Isabela. The City Council on Wednesday also approved the appropriation of P200,000 for the municipality of Sallapadan in Abra, another locality devastated by “Lawin.”

Among the recipients in Isabela were Ilagan City, Sto. Tomas, San Pablo, Tumauini, Cabagan, Sta. Maria, Palanan, Dinapigue, Maconacon, Mallig, Quezon, Quirino and Gamu. In Cagayan, financial aid was given to Tuguegarao City, Peñablanca, Enrile, Solana and Iguig.

Under the Philippine DRRM Act of 2010, the local DRRM Council may transfer funds to support disaster risk reduction work of other LDRRMCs which are declared under a state of calamity, upon the approval of the Sanggunian concerned.

Source and courtesy of Jerome Paunan, Philippine News Agency | Photo by
Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

error: Content is protected !!